Writing On The Wall, The

The writing on the wall by Gunnar Staalesen

Writing On The Wall, The

Translated by 

Bergen, Norway. Teenaged girls, many from privileged backgrounds, are being drawn into drugs and prostitution at an astonishing rate. When the local magistrate is discovered dead in a luxury hotel, clad only in women's lingerie, the mystery deepens. Called in by anxious parents to search for a missing girl, private investigator Varg Veum uncovers clues that lead him deep into Bergen's criminal underworld. As Veum begins to lift the thin veneer of normality that hides a society on the brink of collapse, it becomes clear that this time he may not escape with his life. A taut, gripping and poetic thriller from Norway's most dazzling crime writer.

'A Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbø

'One of the finest Nordic novelists in the tradition of Henning Mankell' Barry Forshaw, Independent

'Stands alongside Connelly, Camilleri and others, who are among the very best modern exponents of the poetic yet tough detective story with strong, classic plots, a social conscience, and perfect pitch in terms of a sense of place' EuroCrime

Price £: 
8.99
Paperback
Published: 
06 Apr 2009
ISBN: 
9781906413194
Available from:
The writing on the wall by Gunnar Staalesen

Writing On The Wall, The

Translated by 

Bergen, Norway. Teenaged girls, many from privileged backgrounds, are being drawn into drugs and prostitution at an astonishing rate. When the local magistrate is discovered dead in a luxury hotel, clad only in women's lingerie, the mystery deepens. Called in by anxious parents to search for a missing girl, private investigator Varg Veum uncovers clues that lead him deep into Bergen's criminal underworld. As Veum begins to lift the thin veneer of normality that hides a society on the brink of collapse, it becomes clear that this time he may not escape with his life. A taut, gripping and poetic thriller from Norway's most dazzling crime writer.

'A Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbø

'One of the finest Nordic novelists in the tradition of Henning Mankell' Barry Forshaw, Independent

'Stands alongside Connelly, Camilleri and others, who are among the very best modern exponents of the poetic yet tough detective story with strong, classic plots, a social conscience, and perfect pitch in terms of a sense of place' EuroCrime

Price £: 
6.99
eBook
Published: 
06 Apr 2009
ISBN: 
9781908129659
Available from:

About the author

  • Gunnar Staalesen

    Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over 20 titles, which have been published in 24 countries and sold over two million copies. Twelves film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Epsen Seim. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour), lives in Bergen with his wife. Cold HeartsYours Until DeathThe Consorts of Death, and The Writing on the Wall are all published in English by Arcadia Books. 

    Titles by Gunnar Staalesen

    Cold Hearts by Gunnar Staalesen
    The consorts of death by Gunnar Staalesen
    The writing on the wall by Gunnar Staalesen
    Yours until death by Gunnar Staalesen