Wolf Children, The

The Wolf Children by Cay Rademacher

Wolf Children, The

Translated by 

Book Two of the Inspector Frank Stave German detective series that began with The Murderer in Ruins and sold over 150,000 copies in Germany

Hamburg 1947: It is the year of extremes.

After a bitterly cold winter of starvation, the bombed city groans under excruciating heat. And Chief Inspector Frank Stave is confronted with a new case.

In the ruins of a shipyard, the corpse of a boy is found and Stave’s hunt for the killer leads him into the world of "wolf children" – orphaned children who have fled from the Occupied Eastern Territories and now united in gangs.

When two more bodies are discovered Stave is under even increasing pressure as he struggles to keep his personal life together too…

Praise for The Murderer in Ruins, Book 1 in the Inspector Stave trilogy:

‘Undoubtedly the most powerful work of crime fiction I have read this year’ Independent

’Vivid and harrowing’ Sunday Times

Price £: 
15 Mar 2017
Available from:

About the author

  • Cay Rademacher

    Cay Rademacher was born in 1965 and studied Anglo-American history, ancient history, and philosophy in Cologne and Washington. He has been an editor at Geo since 1999, and was instrumental in setting up renowned history magazine Geo-Epoche. The Murderer in Ruins is the first novel in the Inspector Stave series; The Wolf Murderer and The Forger have also been published by Arcadia Books. He now lives in France with his wife and children, where his new crime series is set.

    Titles by Cay Rademacher

    The Murderer in Ruins
    The Wolf Children by Cay Rademacher