Forger, The

Forger, The

Translated by 

Hamburg, 1948.

In a routine operation, Chief Inspector Frank Stave is shot down. He survives, but transfers from the murder commission to the office combatting the black market.

There, Stave is confronted with an enigmatic case: Trümmerfrau, women helping to clear rubble from Hamburg’s bombed streets, discover works of art from the Weimar period - right next to a unidentified corpse.

When, shortly afterwards, mysterious banknotes whose existence disturbs the Allies’ secret plans begin to pop up on the black market. The Supervisor soon discovers strange parallels between the two cases. With the introduction of a new currency, Stave thinks he is on the brink of a solution. But the truth is dangerous, and not just for him.

Praise for the Inspector Stave Series:

‘Undoubtedly the most powerful work of crime fiction I have read this year’ Independent

’Vivid and harrowing’ Sunday Times

Price £: 
16 Aug 2018
Available from:

About the author

  • Cay Rademacher

    Cay Rademacher was born in 1965 and studied Anglo-American history, ancient history, and philosophy in Cologne and Washington. He has been an editor at Geo since 1999, and was instrumental in setting up renowned history magazine Geo-Epoche. The Murderer in Ruins is the first novel in the Inspector Stave series; Arcadia Books will publish parts 2 and 3 (The Trafficker and The Forger) in 2016 and 2017. He now lives in France with his wife and children, where his new crime series is set.

    Titles by Cay Rademacher

    The Murderer In Ruins
    The Wolf Children by Cay Rademacher