Cambridge Curry Club, The

Cambridge Curry Club, The

The novel was inspired by Balsari's brief stint at a charity shop on colourful and historic Mill Road in Cambridge, a city usually defined by its colleges. It is a comic story about ordinary people and what happens in their lives when they both lose and take control. The bumbling heroines are three gossipy volunteers of Indian origin and a reticent Irishwoman working in the fictitious IndiaNeed charity shop. Eccentric customers, lovers and husbands stream through its doors.

Won the first ever Cambridgeshire Book of the Decade Award in 2012

Alexander McCall-Smith has compared Balsari to Booker Prize winners Arundhati Roy and Kiran Desai

Author of the Month for June/July 2013 by Cambridgeshire Libraries

'A surprisingly witty and wry book, which is laugh out loud funny mixed with an urgent sense of drama. A staggering first novel which is a definite must read' Waterstones

'Beautifull observed...warm and poignant...a delightful debut novel' Meera Syal

'This is fascinating...very much another in The Number 1 Ladies' Detective Agency territory' Sarah Broadhurst, Ones to Watch, The Bookseller

Price £: 
7.99
Paperback
Published: 
13 Dec 2007
ISBN: 
9781905147694
Available from:

Cambridge Curry Club, The

The novel was inspired by Balsari's brief stint at a charity shop on colourful and historic Mill Road in Cambridge, a city usually defined by its colleges. It is a comic story about ordinary people and what happens in their lives when they both lose and take control. The bumbling heroines are three gossipy volunteers of Indian origin and a reticent Irishwoman working in the fictitious IndiaNeed charity shop. Eccentric customers, lovers and husbands stream through its doors.

Won the first ever Cambridgeshire Book of the Decade Award in 2012

Alexander McCall-Smith has compared Balsari to Booker Prize winners Arundhati Roy and Kiran Desai

Author of the Month for June/July 2013 by Cambridgeshire Libraries

'A surprisingly witty and wry book, which is laugh out loud funny mixed with an urgent sense of drama. A staggering first novel which is a definite must read' Waterstones

'Beautifull observed...warm and poignant...a delightful debut novel' Meera Syal

'This is fascinating...very much another in The Number 1 Ladies' Detective Agency territory' Sarah Broadhurst, Ones to Watch, The Bookseller

Price £: 
6.99
eBook
Published: 
25 Jul 2013
ISBN: 
9781909807396
Available from:

About the author

  • Saumya Balsari

    Saumya Balsari was born in India, has travelled widely and lives in Cambridge and Mumbai. She has been named one of Britain's leading South Asian women. She has previously worked in London as a columnist and freelance journalist. Her debut novel The Cambridge Curry Club won the first ever Cambridgeshire Book of the Decade Award. Summer of Blue, her first novel for young adult readers, was commended in an early version by the Yeovil Literary Prize, 2009 / Betty Bolinbroke-Kent Award. She is currently researching her third novel as Writer-in-Residence at the Centre of Latin American Studies, University of Cambridge. 

    'Saumya Balsari is much in the vein of Kiran Desai and Arundhati Roy' Alexander McCall Smith
     
    'Balsari has an eye and an ear for detail which lifts the telling above the mediocre' Lesley Mason, The Bookbag
     
    'Balsari shows a remarkable breadth and depth in her treasure trove of storylines to leave you satiated.' Redhotcurry
     

    Titles by Saumya Balsari