Saumya Balsari

Saumya Balsari

Saumya Balsari is an award-winning British author. She travels widely and lives in Cambridge, London, Barcelona and Mumbai. She has been named one of Britain's leading South Asian women. A Senior Member of Darwin College, Cambridge University, Balsari has previously worked as a columnist, journalist, editor and translator and is currently on the advisory board of an international literary festival. Her debut novel The Cambridge Curry Club won the first ever Cambridgeshire Book of the Decade Award. Summer of Blue, a young adult novel, was commended in an early version, for the Yeovil Literary Prize. Her work is referenced by academics around the world. She is currently researching and writing her third novel. 

'Saumya Balsari is much in the vein of Kiran Desai and Arundhati Roy' Alexander McCall Smith
 
'Balsari has an eye and an ear for detail which lifts the telling above the mediocre' Lesley Mason, The Bookbag
 
'Balsari shows a remarkable breadth and depth in her treasure trove of storylines to leave you satiated.' Redhotcurry
 

Titles by Saumya Balsari

News

Submitted by admin
15 Mar 2019

Arcadia Books are thrilled to announce the latest acquisition of the World English rights for Julian...

Read more
Submitted by admin
01 Feb 2019

Today marks the 20th anniversary of the first publication of...

Read more
Submitted by admin
31 Jan 2019

We are delighted that two of our authors have been invited to speak at this year's...

Read more

Twitter

  • Ed Gorman, author of the searingly honest memoir DEATH OF A TRANSLATOR, will be appearing at Glasgow's @AyeWrite Fe… https://t.co/Uf7HcwNmGk 4 hours 54 min ago
  • 'What I liked most about this book was the colour and exuberance that Thomas injects into his vivid realisation of… https://t.co/Tw7o8w3vRE 1 day 4 hours ago
  • 'São Paulo feels like the centre of the world.' Great interview with Joe Thomas about his debut novel, PARADISE CIT… https://t.co/zmPWSGMFwx 2 days 5 hours ago
  • RT @TripFiction: Novel set mainly in #Catalonia https://t.co/FWmWQtDqq5 Guest review by @IBlackthorn "Confessions" by Jaume Cabré@ArcadiaBo… 2 days 5 hours ago
  • RT @MyBiggestLuke: My friend Joe Thomas's first Sao Paulo crime novel is 99p at the moment on the Kindle and a very enjoyable read. https:… 3 days 1 hour ago