Saumya Balsari

Saumya Balsari

Saumya Balsari was born in India, has travelled widely and lives in Cambridge and Mumbai. She has been named one of Britain's leading South Asian women. She has previously worked in London as a columnist and freelance journalist. Her debut novel The Cambridge Curry Club won the first ever Cambridgeshire Book of the Decade Award. Summer of Blue, her first novel for young adult readers, was commended in an early version by the Yeovil Literary Prize, 2009 / Betty Bolinbroke-Kent Award. She is currently researching her third novel as Writer-in-Residence at the Centre of Latin American Studies, University of Cambridge. 

'Saumya Balsari is much in the vein of Kiran Desai and Arundhati Roy' Alexander McCall Smith
'Balsari has an eye and an ear for detail which lifts the telling above the mediocre' Lesley Mason, The Bookbag
'Balsari shows a remarkable breadth and depth in her treasure trove of storylines to leave you satiated.' Redhotcurry

Titles by Saumya Balsari


Submitted by admin
30 Jun 2017


Read more
Submitted by admin
07 Feb 2017

Julian SayarerInterstate,  the second book by Julian Sayarer to be published by Arcadia, has overcome competition including from...

Read more


  • James Comey to reveal new information on Trump and respond to 'lies' about FBI in nationwide book tour 15 hours 23 min ago
  • 'Great crime fiction hinges on a sense of place, and Thomas proves an adroit guide' @GQ 16 hours 34 min ago
  • France’s Literature in Translation: The Shortlist From the French-American Foundation 16 hours 38 min ago
  • 'One little cocaine-induced heart attack and it's back to my childhood to start over...' 18 hours 19 min ago
  • At Leipzig Book Fair, Georgia Opens Its Frankfurter Buchmesse Guest of Honor Program 18 hours 20 min ago