Saumya Balsari

Saumya Balsari

Saumya Balsari was born in India, has travelled widely and lives in Cambridge and Mumbai. She has been named one of Britain's leading South Asian women. She has previously worked in London as a columnist and freelance journalist. Her debut novel The Cambridge Curry Club won the first ever Cambridgeshire Book of the Decade Award. Summer of Blue, her first novel for young adult readers, was commended in an early version by the Yeovil Literary Prize, 2009 / Betty Bolinbroke-Kent Award. She is currently researching her third novel as Writer-in-Residence at the Centre of Latin American Studies, University of Cambridge. 

'Saumya Balsari is much in the vein of Kiran Desai and Arundhati Roy' Alexander McCall Smith
 
'Balsari has an eye and an ear for detail which lifts the telling above the mediocre' Lesley Mason, The Bookbag
 
'Balsari shows a remarkable breadth and depth in her treasure trove of storylines to leave you satiated.' Redhotcurry
 

Titles by Saumya Balsari

News

Submitted by admin
07 Feb 2017

Julian SayarerInterstate,  the second book by Julian Sayarer to be published by Arcadia, has overcome competition including from...

Read more
Submitted by admin
23 May 2016

Reading Europe celebrates The Netherlands on 23 May 2016

Today marks the Reading Europe Campaign's turn to the Netherlands - including a...

Read more

Twitter